Med Pay, also called medical payments coverage insurance or medical expense coverage, is offered by most motor vehicle insurance companies as part of your policy options.
Med Pay pays for you and your passengers’ medical bills and expenses if you are hurt or injured in a motor vehicle collision in Oklahoma City. Med Pay is used regardless of who is at fault in the accident.
Med Pay is optional and purchased in increments of $1,000, $5,000, $10,000, $25,000, and sometimes even higher. The coverage is applied per person in the collision, so if five people hurt in a car wreck, the appropriate bills will be paid on each up to the limit you purchase.
Do I need this additional policy if I already have health insurance and car insurance?
Some health insurance policies exclude injuries caused by car accidents, and that is why it is important to know and talk to your carrier.
If you do not have a deductible and your health insurance covers car accidents, then you may not need Med Pay. However, Med Pay is a very economical coverage to purchase for the benefits you receive.
Does Med Pay have to be reimbursed?
In certain situations, an insurance company has the right to be reimbursed for medical payments they make. This is called Subrogation.
The laws on subrogating medical payments are complicated and differ from state tostate. That is why it is important to have a legal representative that understands these laws and how they apply to your situation.
What is the difference between bodily injury and medical expenses?
Bodily Injury liability coverage a mandatory insurance coverage that you are required by state law to purchase if you operate a motor vehicle.
This coverage applies when you are at fault for a motor vehicle collision to which there are injuries and or property damage to others.
This coverage serves two purposes, one is to pay for damages you caused to others due to your negligent actions. The other is to protect you when others make a claim against you for their damages.
Med Pay coverage pays for medical expenses regardless of who is at fault. Bodily injury can also be applied to passengers in your vehicle if they are injured when are the driver and at-fault for an accident.
In most states this coverage is purchased as a split limit, i.e. $25,000/$50,000 is the required minimum in Oklahoma. That means the most any one person can collect is $25,000. And the most the policy will pay for all injured parties is $50,000.
Bodily injury liability coverage can be purchased in higher increments and should be discussed with your agent to determine the level of coverage that best protects you if an accident is your fault.
Contact Carr and Carr
At Carr and Carr we have been working with insurance companies in Oklahoma for over 45 years. We have a team of 11 attorneys and a staff of more than 30 waiting to help you understand what you deserve and fight for you to get it.
We have specialized team members dedicated to successfully assisting you and your case. We protect the rights of injured Oklahomans. If you have any questions about your policy or a recent accident, contact us for your free consultation at 866.510.0580.